In pictures: Lincoln Grand Prix 2011

This story is over

All the UK’s top teams were present in the 160-strong start list for Sunday’s 56th Annual Lincoln Grand Prix.

The 86-mile cycle race was held over 11 laps of the usual circuit with Bailgate now back in to the route after the road works in 2010 caused a small detour.

The race started from Lincoln’s Yarborough Leisure Centre at 10am, where the new Sports Hub built on the side of the cycling circuit became the race HQ for the day.

The finish was in Castle Square at around 1.30pm, where the awards ceremony also took place.

The race was missing last year’s winner Chris Newton who has now retired from top class competition to take on a coaching role.

The 2011 Lincoln Grand Prix was won by Endura Racing’s Scott Thwaites, with national cyclo-cross champion Ian Bibby (Motorpoint) second and his team mate Jonny McEvoy finishing third.

See the Lincoln Grand Prix 2011 full results and a comprehensive race report.

— Photography by Kelly Moore for The Lincolnite

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.