Candidates for Lincoln Bracebridge by-election announced

This story is over

The final list of candidates for the Bracebridge ward by-election in Lincoln on August 22 has been announced.

The list of candidates was confirmed by the City of Lincoln Council after the final deadline for applications on July 26.

Five people will contend for the role of one of the ward’s city councillors, after previous councillor Darren Grice was removed from office due to absence.

(L-R) Labour's Katie Vause, Ross Pepper for Liberal Democrats and Elaine warde for UKIP.

(L-R) Labour’s Katie Vause, Ross Pepper for Liberal Democrats and Elaine warde for UKIP.

The candidates are:

  • David John Denman (Conservative)
  • Ross David Pepper (Liberal Democrat)
  • Katie Vause (Labour)
  • Elaine Elizabeth Warde (UK Independence Party)
  • Karen Elizabeth Williams (Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts)

The candidates will only have until July 31 to withdraw their application.

The City of Lincoln Council are delivering polling cards to residents within the ward, ready for the election on August 22.

There are 5,801 people registered to vote in the Bracebridge ward.

There will be five polling stations on the day, including St Columba’s Church Centre, St Christopher’s School and Manor Leas Junior Academy.

As previously reported, the by-election is being held after the ward’s Independent elected councillor and previous Conservative City Council leader Darren Grice failed to turn up to enough council meetings in the past six months.

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.