May 8, 2015 4.49 am This story is over 102 months old

Conservative Karl McCartney retains Lincoln MP seat

Election result: The Conservatives retain the marginal constituency of Lincoln in the 2015 general election.

The Conservative candidate for Lincoln, Karl McCartney, has retained the seat he won in 2010, narrowly defeating Labour’s Lucy Rigby.

Karl McCartney secured 19,976 votes, 1,443 more than Lucy Rigby in second place (total 18,533), widening the 1,083 votes lead he had in 2010.

Lincoln General Election results 2015

Lincoln General Election results 2015

UKIP’s Nick Smith finished in third place with 5,721 votes, while Ross Pepper for the Liberal Democrats trailed in fourth position, with 1,992 votes.

Helen Powell from the Lincolnshire Independents came in last with 286 votes, with TUSC’s Elaine Smith ahead with 344 votes.