December 16, 2017 5.16 pm This story is over 70 months old

Lincoln City defeat 10-man Accrington at Sincil Bank

Lincoln City 2-0 Accrington Stanley match report.

Danny Cowley’s Lincoln City made it four wins in a row after defeating ten-man Accrington Stanley 2-0 at Sincil Bank.

Accrington’s Farrend Rawson was sent off as once again, goals from Matt Green and Matt Rhead meant that The Imps stay in the play-off places.

Harry Anderson almost opened the scoring for Lincoln when goalkeeper Aaron Chapman failed to deal with Cameron Stewart’s free-kick.

Anderson saw the keeper off his line and attempted an audacious chip, however Mark Hughes was on the line to head the effort over.

The Imps were then handed an early Christmas present just before half-time when referee Seb Stockbridge awarded City a penalty and sent Rawson off.

Matt Rhead flicked on Josh Vickers’ long ball and as Green went through on goal, the referee adjudged Rawson to have fouled him inside the box and subsequently giving the Accrington man his marching orders.

Green dusted himself off before sending goalkeeper Aaron Chapman the wrong way from the spot, making in four goals in as many games for the striker.

11 minutes into the second half and Lincoln doubled their lead.

Neal Eardley’s fantastic cross was cooly controlled by Rhead, who then smashed home for his fourth goal of the season.

Promotion rivals Accrington posed little threat to the Lincoln backline, with The Imps pushing the visitors high up the pitch for long periods of the game.

Lincoln City will now travel to ninth-placed Newport County on Saturday, December 23, before hosting Stevenage on Boxing Day.

Lincoln City: Vickers; Eardley, Waterfall, Raggett, Habergham; Anderson, Bostwick, Woodyard, Stewart (Arnold 66); Rhead (Whitehouse 75); Green (Palmer 76)

Subs not used: Farman (GK), Dickie, Long, Ginnelly

Accrington Stanley: Chapman; Donacien, Rawson, Hughes, Thorniley (Richards-Everton 63); Clark, Brown, Conneelly, McConville (Wilks 63); Jackson, Kee

Subs not used: Stryjek (GK), Johnson, Nolan, Ogle, Sykes