May 9, 2019 3.15 pm This story is over 29 months old

Nigel Farage heading to Lincoln for Brexit rally

The event will be hosted at Lincolnshire Showground

The Brexit Party leader Nigel Farage and chairman Richard Tice will head to Lincoln for a rally on Friday.

The event will take place at the Epic Centre at Lincolnshire Showground at 7pm on Friday, May 10. It is also understood that East Midlands European Election candidates Annunziata Rees-Mogg, Jonathan Bullock, Tracy Knowles and Anna Bailey will be attending.

Tickets are priced at £2.50 – click here for more information.

Other rallies will take place in Durham (May 11), Pontefract and Huddersfield (both May 13).

After failing to agree a Brexit deal in time, it was confirmed that the country will head to the polls for the European Parliament elections on May 23. The UK is now expected to leave the EU on October 31 after an extension granted by Brussels.

The UK has 73 MEPS in total, with five of those elected representing the East Midlands, including Lincolnshire. Click here to see who is standing in the area.

Farage recently said: “The phony war is over as UK Government confirms European elections on May 23. The Brexit Party wants your vote to restore faith in democracy. Our politicians have betrayed our trust.”

When Farage visited Lincoln in 2017 for a last-minute pre-election appearance he was mobbed by crowds in the city. Farage stopped off by the Stonebow to speak to residents about the elections in May 2016.

The Liberal Democrats said the upcoming European elections are about putting out an “alternative message” on Brexit in Lincolnshire and across the country.

Bill Newton-Dunn, who was one of the longest-serving members of the European Parliament and is a candidate at this year’s elections for the East Midlands, said, while he is “not confident” about being elected, he will offer a different “argument” on the EU.

List of candidates in party list order for the East Midlands:

Change UK

  • Kate Godfrey
  • Joan Pons Laplana
  • Narinder Sharma
  • Pankajkumar Gulab
  • Emma Manley


  • Emma McClarkin
  • Rupert Matthews
  • Tony Harper
  • Brendan Clarke-Smith
  • Thomas Randall


  • Kat Boettge
  • Gerhard Lohmann-Bond
  • Liam McClelland
  • Daniel Wimberley
  • Simon Tooke

Independent Network

  • Nick Byatt
  • Marianne Overton
  • Daniel Simpson
  • Pearl Clarke
  • Nikki Dillon


  • Rory Palmer
  • Leonie Mathers
  • Tony Tinley
  • Nicolle Ndiweni
  • Gary Godden

Liberal Democrats

  • Bill Newton Dunn
  • Michael Mullaney
  • Lucy Care
  • Suzanna Austin
  • Caroline Kenyon

The Brexit Party

  • Annunziata Rees-Mogg
  • Jonathan Bullock
  • Matthew Patten
  • Tracy Knowles
  • Anna Bailey


  • Alan Graves
  • Marietta King
  • Anil Bhatti
  • Fran Loi
  • John Evans


  • Simon Rood

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.