The Lincolnite up for award in Online Media Awards 2013

This story is over

For the second year in a row, The Lincolnite has been nominated for the Best Local/Regional News Site in the 2013 Online Media Awards.

The awards identify the best and boldest of online news-based creativity and also the most original.

The Lincolnite, published by Stonebow Media, has been nominated in this year’s awards, with strong competition in its category from the likes of BBC East Midlands, Lancashire Telegraph and last year’s winners, Belfast Telegraph.

Awards Founder Gordon Young said: “Now in its second year, the Online Media Awards have very quickly become established among the world’s top online media owners and editors as an important benchmark for the work that they are doing to build strong online brands.

“This year’s awards attracted many major national and international media brands all of whom are really pushing the boundaries of online journalism.

“What is also encouraging to see is that not only the major media brands are winning these awards, but smaller brands are also proving that when it comes to great online journalism it is not always who has the deepest pockets that wins.”

Daniel Ionescu, Managing Editor at The Lincolnite, said: “This second nomination in a row is very exciting for us, now that we are preparing to celebrate our third birthday.

“The team works very hard to keep the people of Lincoln and beyond updated on the latest happenings in the city and I’m glad our work is recognised at a national level. We’d like to thank our readers and partners for their continued support.”

Elizabeth Fish, Associate Editor at The Lincolnite, added: “I’m pleased to see the hard work of all the team is paying off by being nominated for an Online Media Award again.

“I look forward to the ceremony, where we will be able to meet with other local, regional, and national titles to share and learn even more about online publication.

“Of course, we wouldn’t be able to write this news without the support of all our readers, so thank you!”

The award winners and commendations will be announced at the awards ceremony on June 12 in London.