April 20, 2012 12.09 pm This story is over 120 months old

Line-up for 2012 Lincoln Grand Prix announced

Front runners: The line-up for Grand Prix has been announced by The Velo Club.

The final line-up for Lincoln’s 57th Grand Prix has been announced by The Velo Club, sporting a number of great cycling names.

Number 1 rider will be Endura’s Scott Thwaites, who just won the recent Tour Doon Hame at Easter.

He will be alongside his team mates, Russell Downing, Jon Tiernan-Locke, and Jonny McEvoy.

Other teams taking part in the 160 cyclists-strong race are Team IG Sigmasport, NODE4 Giordana, Team Raleigh, Rapha Condor Sharp, Sportscover Altura and Team UK Youth.

Out of 160 riders, 86 of them are Elite racers, meaning picking a winner could be difficult.

The Grand Prix begins at 10am on May 13 from Yarborough Leisure Centre, lasting 102 miles.

A number of cycling events will be happening within the Lincoln Castle, as well as stalls and displays like the British Cycling WATT bikes, The Lincolnshire Sports Partnership ‘bike4life’ stand, bike part stalls, smoothies and the Farmers’ Market.

The event is sponsored by the University of Lincoln, City of Lincoln Council, Pygott and Crone, Jackson Building Centres, Lindum Group and Impsport.

For more details on the event, including registration for shorter routes and maps, traffic restrictions, or how to volunteer for the event, visit the official Grand Prix website.

Source: City of Lincoln Council