June 13, 2013 12.02 pm This story is over 125 months old

Special Chairman’s Award for The Lincolnite at Online Media Awards

Online Media Awards accolade: The Lincolnite brought home the special Chairman’s Award at the Online Media Awards in London.

The Lincolnite has received a special Chairman’s Award at the Online Media Awards in London on Wednesday, June 12.

The Lincolnite was shortlisted for the Best Regional / Local New Website in the awards, though the grand prize in this category went for the second year in a row to the Belfast Telegraph.

But at the end of the night, The Lincolnite scooped the special Chairman’s Award, selected by the Chairman and the judging panel as their personal favourite.

Noel Young is the Chairman of the Online Media Awards and founding chairman of the Carnyx Group and now owner of the US news agency, ReportBoston.com.

Chairman Noel Young said: “For me this is a unique and imaginative site, it ‘delivers local news where the people are … and use their Twitter account to act like a news ticker’. That really condenses the appeal of this local website. I thought it was very neat.”

Other members of the judging panel included Nick Wrenn, VP digital, CNN International, Tim Rowell, previously the Digital Publisher at the Telegraph Media Group and Bill Hagerty, Chairman, British Review Journal.

The Online Media Awards attracted entries from some of the world’s leading websites including Al Jazeera, The Huffington Post, The Guardian, The Times, CNN, New York Times, Sky, Channel 4 / ITN, ITV, Sunday Times, BBC and Reuters, to name a few.

Named as Website of the Year was Channel 4 / ITN, while The New York Times, The Sunday Times & The Times and Reuters all won two awards.

The Lincolnite Associate Editor Elizabeth Fish with Online Media Awards Chairman Noel Young of ReportBoston.com, receiving the Chairman's Award. Photo: Nick Creed

The Lincolnite Associate Editor Elizabeth Fish with Online Media Awards Chairman Noel Young of ReportBoston.com, receiving the Chairman’s Award. Photo: Nick Creed

Elizabeth Fish, Associate Editor at The Lincolnite, was in London on Wednesday at the awards ceremony. She said: “It came as a total surprise to be awarded the Chairman’s Award – especially with the other worthy online publications that could’ve been chosen there.

“This award goes to the hard work of all our staff, interns and freelancers, and of course our readers. Without these, The Lincolnite wouldn’t be the award-winning publication it is today. Expect greater things this year!”

Online Media Awards Founder and Publisher of The Drum, Gordon Young, said: “Now in their third year, the Online Media Awards have very quickly become established among the world’s top online media owners and editors as an important benchmark for the work that they are doing to build strong online brands.

“What is also encouraging to see is that not only the major media brands are winning these awards, but smaller brands are also proving that when it comes to great online journalism they can compete against the big guns,” he added.

In the individual awards the Online Editor of the Year went to Carla Buzasi Editor-in-chief and The Huffington Post UK for a second year in a row, the technology editor for the International Business Times, Dave Gilbert won Digital Writer of the Year and Teo Kermeliotis from CNN took home the trophy for Freelance Writer of the Year.

This year’s awards were sponsored by iomart Group, IE School of Communication, the Press Association, Society of Editors, NUJ and the British Journalism Review.