July 7, 2015 11.34 am This story is over 81 months old

By-election called in North Hykeham after councillor resigns due to ill health

By-election called: Five candidates are running in the North Kesteven District Council by-election for the Mill Ward.

North Kesteven District Council has called in a by-election in the Mill Ward of North Hykeham on July 30.

The Mill Ward covers the southern most parts of North Hykeham, roads leading from Mill Lane and homes to the east of Newark Road.

Councillor Jill Wilson has stood down due to ill health.

Councillor Jill Wilson has stood down due to ill health.

Lincolnshire Independent district councillor Jill Wilson stood down from her role last month due to ill health.

There are five candidates running in this by-election:

  • Elizabeth Saffron Bathory Porter – Green Party
  • John Bishop – Hykeham Independents
  • Diana Catton – Liberal Democrats
  • Mike Clarke – Conservative Party
  • Terence Peter Dooley – Labour Party

There are 3,742 people eligible to vote in the Mill Ward by-election in North Hykeham as of June 2015.

Polling cards are being sent out via first class post, but you must register to vote by July 14.

The deadline for postal vote applications is 5pm on July 15 and for proxy applications is at 5pm on July 22.

The polling station is on Ark on Moor Lane and will be open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday, July 30.