May 10, 2010 10.22 am This story is over 146 months old

Chris Newton wins 2010 Lincoln Grand Prix

GP win: Olympic medallist Chris Newton grabbed the winning title of the 55th Lincoln Grand Prix.

Chris Newton, of the Rapha Condor Sharp team, has won the 55th Lincoln Grand Prix race, held on Sunday, May 9th. After dominating the Lincoln circuit for the second time, the Olympic medallist now leads the British Cycling Premier Calendar Series.

Three-time Lincoln Grand Prix winner Russell Downing, of the Sky Pro Cycling team, was the first man over the line on lap one, but finished the race on the sixth place. The second place was taken by Philip Lavery of Team Ireland, and the third spot by Simon Richardson of Sigma Sport team.

For a full break-down of the 55th Lincoln Grand Prix, see British Cycling’s report.

Source: British Cycling | Photo: Larry Hickmott, British Cycling