June 29, 2018 9.16 am This story is over 42 months old

Conservatives retain control of North Kesteven council

The results are in

The Conservatives retained overall control of North Kesteven District Council after a by-election on Thursday night.

They held the seat in the North Hykeham Mill Ward, where Stephen Roe won 376 of the 762 votes cast.

Stephen Roe held the North Hykeham Mill Ward for the Conservatives.

The Independents held the Skellingthrope seat with Richard Johnson getting 348 votes of 764 cast.

Richard Johnson won the in Skellingthorpe seat for the Independents. Photo: NKDC

The council remains in overall control of 28 Conservatives councillors of a total 43 seats, with the Lincolnshire Independents having 10 seats.

The by-elections have been called after the resignations of councillors Andrea Clarke and Shirley Pannell.

Councillor Clarke, who was elected to the authority in 2011 for the North Hykeham Mill Ward, stood down due to family reasons.

Councillor Pannell resigned from her seat on the Skellingthorpe Ward in April after 23 years due to retirement.

Spotted an error? Please notify us by selecting that text and pressing Ctrl+Enter.