December 13, 2019 4.18 am This story is over 47 months old

Conservatives hold Sleaford and North Hykeham

The results are in

The Sleaford and North Hykeham seat has been held by the Conservatives.

The party’s Caroline Johnson took the seat with 44,683 votes – a massive 32,565 vote majority.

Turnout was 70.5% – a total of 66,803 votes.

Here’s how the vote panned out for each candidate:

  • Caroline Coram, Independent: 657
  • Oliver Craven, Liberal Democrat: 5,355
  • Linda Edwards-Shea, Labour: 12,118
  • Caroline Johnson, Conservative: 44,683
  • Marianne Overton, Lincolnshire Independents: 1,999
  • Simon Tooke, Green:  1,742

The number of registered voters for this year’s election for Sleaford and North Hykeham was up by 3,834 people compared to 2017, with 94,761 people signed up.

In 2017, Conservative Caroline Johnson took the majority with 42,245 ballot papers – 8% higher than the party’s victory in the 2016 by-election which resulted from predecessor Stephen Philips stepping down.

Mr Phillips himself took over from Conservative Douglas Hogg in 2010 and the party has/had held the seat since the constituencies inception in 1997.

See the MP seats across Greater Lincolnshire as they are declared: